

# Groundwater **Drought Vulnerability** of the Republic of South Africa

## **OCTOBER 2024**

## Data Sources:

Water Management Areas: Department of Water & Sanitation (DWS), Directorate Catchment Management. Boundaries and towns: Chief Directorate National Geospatial Information (NGI), Department Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development.

## Compiled by:

Department of Hydrology, GEUS, National Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland, Copenhagen, Denmark

IWMI, International Water Management Institute, Pretoria, South Africa

DHI GRAS A/S, Copenhagen, Denmark
DMI, Danish Meteorological Institute, Copenhagen,

CSIR, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, Stellenbosch, South Africa

#### Updated by:

Department of Water & Sanitation Directorate: Spatial Information (SI)

Sub-Directorate: Geographic Information & Archiving (GI&A); Cartographic Services Unit

## **Groundwater Vulnerability Index**



## **MAP KEY**

- Major Cities/Towns
- **Groundwater Dependent Towns 2024**
- Major Dams
- Major Rivers
  - Water Management Area Boundary 2023
- Provincial Boundary
- International Boundary

# **Provinces:**

- Eastern Cape
  - Free State
- Gauteng
- **パ**ZM Kwazulu-Natal
- Limpopo
- Mpumalanga
- Northern Cape
- North West
- W@ Western Cape